This route will lead you to discover Langres's remarkable fountains and their history and legends...
The blue gold of the fountains: the majority of the springs that run at the foot of the town have been famous since Antiquity. Archaeological material has even been found close to some of them.
The fountains were prominent during the medieval era, particularly between the 17th and 18th centuries and underwent regular maintenance. In this era, no doubt as respite from working on the fortifications, the people of Langres repaired or built the majority of the fountains. In the case of the Grenouille fountain, the work started in the year 1657.
The Saint-Didier fountain seems to have undergone important restoration in 1716 or 1717. The Saint-Antoine fountain was rebuilt in 1773 by Claude Forgeot, architect of the façade of the Saint-Martin church. It's this same architect who would give the Grenouille fountain its current shape between 1755 and 1758. The President fountain and its wash house underwent construction work which was finished in 1782. The Saint-Nicolas fountain, was reconstructed 1785. Regular maintenance of these fountains was undertaken by the gardes-fountaines (fountain supervision).
Finally, in the 19th century, the responsibility for the preservation of the quality of the water was taken over by the police.
- To discover
Altitude minimum : 433 m
Altitude maximum : 498 m
Altitude moyenne : 467 m
Denivelé positif cumulé : 187 m
Denivelé négatif cumulé : 185 m